Thomas Hyle's Findings

Verbs

I find these verbs enlightening:

found here

read

get

see

get

read

visit

get

offer

study

help

respond

check

ensure

support

work

protect

research

develop

facilitate

confront

keep

help

detect

slow

prepare

respond

care

kill

warn

offer

do

report

work

develop

offer

coordinate

offer

offer

research

use

publish

answer

publish

offer

offer

publish

test

manage

delay

offer

deduct

get

avoid

identify

warn

investigate

prosecute

see

take

warn

warn

threaten

warn

avoid

report

process

work

post

post

post

answer

issue

post

post

offer

offer

operate

ensure

publish

vote

visit

vote

consider

ensure

stay

encourage

accept

make

cover

support

protect

support

urge

work

respond

remind

report

work

manage

offer

work

combat

issue

provide

combat

monitor

issue

advise

post

support

protect

get

Verbs are weird things taken out of their rightful places. They start begging for meaning, a purpose or a job. A verb like "offer" can mean so much when angry. Well, one can say that for all the words. Let's put it this way:

I found a runaway once. It was pouring rain down the main avenue, I was ironically heading home myself, and this figure was crouched beneath an antique store's sunshade. A young boy, maybe 15. I asked him if he wanted a ride, I pointed to my umbrella. He said no, he was heading to the gym. I asked him what was the travel bag for. Maybe I shouldn't have, it was quite intrusive in fact, I was nothing to the boy, but that's exactly it, I was nothing to him, so he just plainly told me to fuck off and began to cry. And when that happens, one has to choose. That day, I chose to stay. Maybe it was the rain. The boy spat out that he was running away from home and that before I asked anything I should think what verb I'd use. Uh, this little dude. "Fine." So I thought about it.

The rain continued pouring down on my umbrella, heavying harder than I could bear, or maybe it was just the thinking, so I put it down. He did not invite me to sit, so I accepted the rain and just stood there thinking, it was better that way. Can't tell why, sometimes it just is.

"To drown."

"What?"

"To drown is the verb I choose."

He chuckled. "And the question?"

"Are you drowning?"

His hands went for the bag.

"No, no, don't be afraid. I mean metaphorically, obviously."

"Sure, dude. What are you implying?" He got up and ran up the main avenue. I don't think he wanted me to answer that. Or at least he was afraid I'd answer.

Anyhow, that's it for the power of verbs. Apply them wisely. Maybe walk in the rain and see if you can catch one drifting with the current before it gets forever lost out of context. Everyone needs some.